Hunting is a great way to enjoy the natural beauty of Louisiana while responsibly harvesting game. To legally hunt in the state, you must obtain a license. This guide explains the application process and required documents needed to obtain your hunting license in Louisiana.
Determine Your Eligibility for a Hunting License.
Residents and nonresidents 18 years or older must apply for a hunting license in Louisiana. You must have a basic hunting license in order to hunt in Louisiana if you are 18 years or older. Youth hunters age 17 or younger must have a Youth Hunting License for hunting and trapping. Hunters must keep their licenses on their person while hunting or they may be subjected to a fine. The best way to make sure you always have your hunting license is to keep it on your phone by using LA Wallet.
Applicants may also be required to provide proof of residency or citizenship depending on the type of license requested. Hunters who have previously been convicted of a wildlife-related violation may also not be eligible for a license in Louisiana.
Applicants may request a license through the Louisiana Department of Wildlife and Fisheries’ online store or in person at a local retailer. Those requesting an out-of-state license must fill out an application form and submit it to their nearest LDWF office. The fees for in-state hunting licenses vary, depending on the type of license, but all costs include the cost of a basic state hunting privilege license. All applicants must also pay $4 for the hunter safety education fee.
Gather the Required Documentation and Forms.
Whether you are applying for a resident or non-resident hunting license, you will be required to provide certain forms of identification and verification. Non-residents should be prepared to show proof of citizenship or residency. Residents will need to submit a valid driver’s license, a current hunting license from another state, or an ID card issued by the Louisiana Department of Wildlife and Fisheries. All hunters may also be required to complete additional paperwork depending on the type of game they intend to hunt and their locality. Before submitting your request, make sure all documentation is complete and accurate.
Along with completing the documentation and forms, most hunters will be required to submit payment or register for an existing hunting license. Non-residents must pay the applicable fees for a big game license and trout permit in Louisiana. Both resident and non-resident small game hunts are free of charge. Hunters can purchase their licenses online through the Louisiana Department of Wildlife and Fisheries website, or at local vendors using cash, debit/credit cards, or traveler’s checks. All applicants should be sure to keep their license current as regulations may change each year.
Obtain the Proper Training Through an Approved Class or Course.
Before attempting to apply for a hunting license in Louisiana, you may be required to obtain the necessary training from an approved course or class. Most courses require students to complete educational materials and pass a proficiency exam before receiving a certificate of completion. Depending on your location, some classes may be offered online. After completing the necessary course, make sure to bring your certificate with you when applying for your hunting license.
Every hunter in Louisiana must also pass a basic hunter education course to obtain their hunting license. There are four approved methods for completion of the course: an online home-study program; an instructor-led classroom program, an apprentice/mentor program, or a 4-H sponsored hunter education program. After passing the course, all individuals over 16 years of age must apply for the actual license either by visiting the website, calling or visiting one of the Department’s offices. For some applicants, you may be required to wait up to two weeks until your license becomes active after being issued.
Contact the Louisiana Department of Wildlife and Fisheries to Submit your Application and Pay any Required Fee(s).
Once you have obtained the necessary certificate of completion, contact the Louisiana Department of Wildlife and Fisheries to complete your application. Be prepared to provide any documentation or forms required for the license. Additionally, you will need to pay any applicable fees before the license can be issued. Licenses must then be renewed annually by a certain date each year in order for them to remain valid.
The Louisiana Department of Wildlife and Fisheries provides an online portal that makes it simple to find the forms necessary for obtaining a hunting license in Louisiana. This portal also allows you to submit your application online and pay any fee required for the license. Additionally, you can use the portal to keep track of when your license must be renewed each year and verify if any further training or certificates are needed in order to be eligible for a hunting license.
Pick Up Your Hunting License At the Issuing Office After Your Application is Accepted and Processed.
After you have completed your application and submitted the appropriate fee, your license will be issued by the Louisiana Department of Wildlife and Fisheries. You can pick up your license at any issuing office, or it may be sent directly to you in the mail. Once you have your license, make sure to keep it with you at all times when hunting in the state of Louisiana.
A basic hunting license in Louisiana covers small game animals such as rabbits, squirrels, and quail. Special permits may also be required for additional species including deer and turkey. All hunter education requirements must be met before you can acquire a license to hunt, so it’s important to make sure you are properly trained and knowledgeable before you begin. Additionally, all hunters are expected to act responsibly and follow the laws of the state while hunting.
Louisiana is known for hunting and fishing. We take pride in our outdoors and do everything we can for wildlife preservation. I hope this guide has helped answer your questions regarding how to get a hunting license in Louisiana.
Frequently Asked Questions:
Does Louisiana have good hunting?
Absolutely! Louisiana has vast amounts of great hunting spots all over the state. You will find bucks with huge racks as well as an ample amount of other types of game.
Where can I hunt for a record buck?
You can find great deer hunting anywhere in the state, but certain parishes tend to produce large bucks regularly. It may have something to do with the soil or other environmental factors, but it is true that some parishes produce larger bucks on average than others. Some parishes to hunt for a record buck include Union Parish, Concordia Parish, Tensas Parish, St. Landry Parish, Point Coupe Parish, and even Avoyelles Parish.
When can I hunt in Louisiana?
There are so many types of game you can hunt in Louisiana which means there are different hunting seasons for each type of species. You can view the Louisiana hunting seasons here.
How do you go alligator hunting in Louisiana?
You must have an Alligator Hunting License and harvest tags in order to hunt alligators in Louisiana. It’s extremely important that you keep your hunting license on your person each and every time you go alligator hunting. If you are assisting a licensed alligator hunter, you must apply for a Helper License to stay in compliance with the law. You have to follow the rules closely when it comes to hunting alligators in Louisiana. You can read the requirements here.